Skip to content

Department of Mathematical Sciences

Browse Department

Scholarships & Awards

At UIndy, we reward hard work. The Mathematics Department grants two scholarships and awards each year based on academic excellence.

Dewey E. Gommel Award for Excellence in Mathematics

This award is given to the top junior in mathematics each year. Dewey E. Gommel, 1898-1989, was a research engineer, inventor and mathematician who emphasized the importance of mathematics to develop analytical thinking and solutions to problems in various fields of endeavor. He especially encouraged all students to study mathematics. This award is non-renewable.

Stevens Scholarship

This scholarship is funded by an endowment established by the estate of Delbert and Virginia Stevens. Mrs. Stevens, a 1942 UIndy graduate, enjoyed a career as an elementary school teacher and principal. Mr. Stevens worked in the engineering field and later taught mathematics. The scholarship is awarded to junior-year secondary mathematics education majors of high academic standing and demonstrated financial need meeting academic tuition expenses during the junior year. It is renewable for a second year.