Skip to content

Department of Communication

Browse Department

Communication Scholarships & Awards

Speech Team scholarship

We offer a stackable $500-$5,000 scholarship to any student interested in participating on the speech team. Recipients of the award are chosen by the communication faculty committee. All majors and skill levels are encouraged to apply.


  • Must enroll and participate in COMM 130 Speech Team course
  • Must maintain at least a 2.5 GPA
  • Must complete and submit the scholarship application by August 1. Students who apply by March 1, 2016 will receive priority consideration.
  • Write a 400-word essay justifying why you should receive this scholarship
  • Submit two letters of recommendation with your application

Apply now ►

Check out other UIndy scholarships and grants ►

Manager positions

Each of our applied learning outlets (The Reflector, Top Dog Communication, UIndy TV-5 and WICR-FM) have student management positions that receive a monthly stipend. These roles provide great leadership opportunities, as they often involve managing a staff and overseeing production. 


Our students work hard, and it's important to us to recognize that. Each year we hold an awards banquet (affectionately known by our students as "The Commies") to celebrate their achievements.

Departmental awards

  • Senior Scholarship Award
  • Outstanding Student in Public Relations
  • Outstanding Student in Human Communication
  • Outstanding Student in Electronic Media
  • Outstanding Student in Journalism
  • Outstanding Student in Sports Information
  • Outstanding Freshman in Communication 
  • Distinguished Achievement Award**

Awards in electronic media

  • Elisa Bowen Radio and Television Award for Excellence in Radio
  • Elisa Bowen Radio and Television Award for Excellence in Television
  • Outstanding Radio Sportscaster of the Year
  • Outstanding Radio Broadcast Journalist of the Year
  • Outstanding Radio On-Air Personality of the Year
  • Performance Excellence in Television**
  • Production Excellence in Television**
  • Creative Excellence in Television**

Awards in forensics

  • Billy Catchings Debate Award
  • Lee Horn Individual Events Award
  • Troy Gambrel Novice Award

Awards in journalism

  • Outstanding Contributor to The Reflector
  • The Gannett Minority Journalism Scholarship
  • Mary Hiatt Carmony Editorship Award
  • Distinguished Service Achievement Award**

 Awards in public relations

  • Outstanding Contributor to Top Dog Communication

(** indicates an award given only when merited; not necessarily an annual award)